I am procrastinating! Can you tell?

I ran five kilometers on the treadmill at the gym yesterday, and my lungs didn’t give out! I ran it at an agonizingly slow pace (only made worse by how much I hate running on a treadmill) but I ran and didn’t collapse into an Alex Mack-like puddle of phlegm. Score! I’m still hoping to get my 17k run in this Sunday…

Since I’ve been spending more time at the gym and not running over the past week or so, I’ve had to be more creative with my weights exercises so I don’t get bored. This has lead me to trying out new things I find on the internet, which is both good and bad. It’s good because it means I’m (re)discovering new (old/dormant/whatever) muscle groups, but it’s bad because I don’t know if I’m doing it correctly, and with weights I’m always afraid of injuring myself. I’ve actually found a lot of the encouragement to lift weights and do other bodyweight exercises from running/nutrition/health blogs I read so I’ve been trying to do that more on my own during my cross training days. I’ve been feeling for a while now though that I’m ready to learn more about how to do this all properly, so I’m going to sign up for a weightlifting class that they offer at my gym. Exciting!

My other related fitness goal is that I’ve always wanted to be able to do a real, legs extended, body down to almost-but-not-quite the floor push-up. I found this article yesterday on how to teach yourself to do a push up, so damnit, I’m going to do it!

Finally, I want to write something about food, but I’ve been having even more conflicted than usual feelings about eating and food and fullness in the past week or so, so I’m going to hold off on that for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

